Ash-ton !  Ashton Secondary, pictured above taking the field in front of their enthusiastic supporters,
are set to become the 100th team to take part in the Tony Stoops Rugby Festival, which will
celebrate its tenth anniversary next March at Brackenfell. (photo: Jason Denzel)

The addition – a 2018 one-off – of the Paarl Boys’ High 150 Festival means that the already comprehensive list of schools rugby events becomes just that little bit more congested.

Starting as it does in the middle of the short April vacation, this prestige event has caused a few ripples among the relatively calm waters.  The sides affected are, ironically, those who are regarded as the crème de la crème of the local game. 

While those schools not involved will simply smile – a little jealously, for sure – and say that that’s the price one has to pay for establishing and maintaining a high profile, the Paarl event – and in two cases the Middelburg North-South festival – will be asking a lot of several teams.

The nett outcome is that Glenwood, Oakdale, Kearsney and HTS Drostdy will all be playing a punishing six matches in the space of twelve days.  In Glenwood’s case, it will be over a ten-day period !

The odd slip when cross-referencing the various dates is only to be expected.  It will thus come as no surprise that one school had to withdraw from an event when they found that it overlapped with another of its commitments.  This meant that their place had to be filled, which, in turn,  resulted in a lucky school having to withdraw from what they considered a less prestigious festival.  Fortunately, that gap was quickly filled from the waiting list. 

Even though some ranking mechanisms don’t include matches against overseas teams in their statistics, just the thought of the overexposure was enough to cause Paul Roos to withdraw from their neighbour’s birthday bash. 

Only time will tell whether their choice was a wise one.

Wednesday 28 and Saturday 31 March

Tshwane North-South Festival

North : EG Jansen, Garsfontein, Menlopark, Monument and Waterkloof
South : Boland Landbou, Durbanville, Grey College, Outeniqua, Paarl Gym and Stellenberg


Thursday 29, Saturday 31 March and Monday 2 April

Kearsney Easter Festival

Dale, Durban HS, Framesby, Glenwood, HTS Drostdy, HTS Middelburg, Kearsney, Noord-Kaap, Pretoria BHS, Queen’s, Selborne. Welkom Gym


KES Easter Festival

Ben Vorster, Eldoraigne, Hudson Park, Jeppe, KES, Marais Viljoen, Marlow, Muir, Noordheuwel, Northwood, Westville and Wynberg


Mutual and Federal Oakdale Festival

Augsburg Gym, Bellville, Bredasdorp, De Aar, Diamantveld, Die Brandwag (EP), Duineveld, Grey Cherries, Hermanus, Hugenote, Jeugland, Kempton Park, Klerksdorp, Labori, Landboudal, Lichtenburg, Langenhoven Gym, Montagu, Oakdale, Old Mutual Agri XV, Oosterlig, Overberg, Potchefstroom Gym, Robertson, Rustenburg, St Charles, Strand, Upington, Voortrekker (EFS), Wesvalia, Wilgerivier and Zwartkop


St John’s Easter Festival 

Eye of the Tiger, Fitton College (Eng), Florida, Golden Lions Invitation XV, Helpmekaar, Hilton, Nelspruit, Paul Roos, HTS Daniel Pienaar, St Alban’s, St John’s and Windhoek High


St Stithian’s Easter Festival

Bishops, Clifton, Graeme, Grey High, Kingswood, Maritzburg College, Michaelhouse, Parktown, Rondebosch, SACS, St Andrew’s (Gtn) and St Stithian’s


TSRF 2018 (at Brackenfell)

Alexander Road, Aliwal North, Ashton Sec, Bellville South, Brackenfell, Bridgton, Cederberg Academy, De Kuilen, Dirkie Uys, Emil Weder, Fairmont, Groenberg, Groendal, HTS Bellville, Hopefield, Hottentots Holland, Humansdorp Sec, Jan Kriel, Klein Nederburg, Knysna, Langenhoven High, Lutzville, Montana, Monument Park, New Orleans, Otto du Plessis, Oudtshoorn, Paulus Joubert, Piet Potgieter, Piketberg, Porterville, President, Schoonspruit, Sutherland, Swartland, Tygerberg, Victoria Park, Vredenburg, Weston and York



Tuesday 3, Thursday 5 and Saturday 7 April

Paarl Boys’ High 150 Festival

SA Teams : Affies, Boland Landbou, Glenwood, Grey College, Hilton, Monument, Oakdale,
                    Outeniqua, Paarl Boys’ High and Paarl Gym

Overseas Teams (so far): Christchurch (NZ), Combined Africa/Pacific Islands, Hamilton (NZ), Hartputy (Eng), Millfield (Eng), Napier (NZ), Otago (NZ) (incomplete)



Thursday 5, Saturday 7 and Monday 9 April

Middelburg North-South Festival

North : Marais Viljoen, HS Middelburg and Transvalia
South : HTS Daniel Pienaar, HTS Drostdy and Kearsney



Saturday 28 and Monday 30 April

K2 Festival in Oudtshoorn

Brackenfell, Cradock, De Kuilen, Duineveld, HTS Middelburg, Oos-Moot, Oudtshoorn, Robertson, Schoonspruit Sek and Sentraal (FS)


Wildeklawer Spectacular

Affies, Boland Landbou, Diamantveld, EG Jansen, Glenwood, Grey College, Helpmekaar, HTS Drostdy, Menlopark, Monument, Noord-Kaap, Oakdale, Outeniqua, Paarl Boys’ High, Paarl Gym, Paul Roos, SARU Invitation XV, Selborne, Stellenberg and Waterkloof


Wynberg Festival

Bellville, Bishops (only 28 April), DF Malan (only 30 April), Durbanville, Fish Hoek, Garsfontein, Hugenote, KES, Milnerton (only 28 April), Parel Vallei, Rondebosch (only 28 April), SACS (only 28 April), Somerset College, St Benedict’s, Tygerberg, Upington, Windhoek High and Wynberg


Date Team Score
2017-08-26 BOSMANSDAM
2017-08-26 OAKDALE
2017-08-26 WYNBERG
2017-08-26 RONDEBOSCH